1500 watt amp

diagrams and such...

1500 watt amp

Postby WA2WVL » Thu Aug 17, 2006 11:45 am

This amplifier was designed to run 1500 Watts average power on 40 meters in RTTY mode. It used Sinewave Drive to 10 IRFP32N50K FETs, two groups of 5 in Push/pull. Driving power was 30 watts.

It was tested on a dummy load at 1800 watts for 1 hour with very little heating in any component or heatsink. Efficiency was in the 85-90% range. It has a 50/50 ohm bandpass filter included in addition to the output tuning network. The filter gives another 24db of attenuation to the 2nd harmonic.

Both coils in the output were wound on 1 inch PVC with 1/4 inch copper tubing. The capacitors used in the output are ATC-100 types derated to less than 5amps each.

A few 47pf, npo ceramics are used to position the tuning to midrange and loading capacitance is fixed.

The amplifier has a built in 2KVA Variac for setting the power output.

http://home.tampabay.rr.com/hamradio/1500_Amp.jpg

http://home.tampabay.rr.com/hamradio/ 1500watt0001.jpg

http://home.tampabay.rr.com/hamradio/Ricks_Amp
Last edited by WA2WVL on Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:24 pm, edited 32 times in total.
WA2WVL
Class E Enthusiast
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Homosassa, Fl.

Postby frank carcia » Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:35 pm

Please post this work of art Floyd. very nice job....I've seen the pictures.
frank carcia
Senior Contributer
 
Posts: 765
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:48 am
Location: Enfield Ct. / Niantic Ct.

1500 watt amp

Postby WA2WVL » Sun Aug 20, 2006 10:16 pm

Frank the schematic is here but I am having trouble making it viewable.
When you print the spot the schematic prints.
Floyd
WA2WVL
Class E Enthusiast
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Homosassa, Fl.

Postby blaine » Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:09 pm

it looks like you linked everything correctly.

when i click on your link i get this message
Code: Select all
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /hamradio/1500watt0001.jpg on this server.

it seems like your webspace is not allowing direct linking to images.
there should be a configuration change to allow for this in your roadrunner webspace config.
Blaine N1GTU
"The box said that I needed to have Windows 98 or better...
so I installed Linux." --- LinuxNewbie.org
User avatar
blaine
Site Admin
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 1:13 am
Location: CT

Postby cableman » Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:46 am

I got the same message,but one click on the refresh button and i have the pic.
They look very good by the way,very nice!!
I see you used the ATC caps.
But what type input cores did you use?
And how did you transfer the heat of the fets to the coolingblocks
cableman
Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 8:40 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby WA2WVL » Tue Aug 22, 2006 8:32 am

Cableman

The FETs are screwed directly on to 1/2 inch copper bars (2x6 inches) and the bars are pressed down with G7 blocks with 5 mil Kapton insulation. (about 700 pf per side) No additional shunt C was required .

The input reversing transformer was a small 4 core assembly from my junk box (nothing special).
WA2WVL
Class E Enthusiast
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Homosassa, Fl.

Postby WA2WVL » Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:24 pm

Some users are being blocked from viewing the attachments to this spot.
My computer expert and I are working on the problem.
Floyd

I am blocked myself (Error 403).
WA2WVL
Class E Enthusiast
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Homosassa, Fl.


Return to Schematics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron