Class E for PSK31

Welcome and feel free to ask questions about class E, mosfet's, and AM.
You must be registered to post.

Class E for PSK31

Postby yb0djh » Mon Nov 02, 2009 5:44 am

Dear All

Wondering if i can work mode PSK31 with Class E? Somebody have try this before?

Right now i m using IC706 running 12 watt to drive two combined of class E push pull IRFP460 (600 Watt Carrier). IC706 running on CW mode.

Best Regards

de yb0djh, Agus HY
Image
yb0djh
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:57 am
Location: Indonesia Jakarta

Re: Class E for PSK31

Postby kf1z » Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:19 am

AM PSK31? not aware of that...

I would think you would need a linear amplifier for PSK... Class-E is not linear.

Perhaps Others have some thoughts on this ........ ?

Bruce G
User avatar
kf1z
Senior Contributer
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:07 am
Location: Ely, NV.

Re: Class E for PSK31

Postby yb0djh » Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:06 pm

kf1z wrote:AM PSK31? not aware of that...

I would think you would need a linear amplifier for PSK... Class-E is not linear.

Perhaps Others have some thoughts on this ........ ?

Bruce G

Hi Bruce.

Maybe my description is not complete, so make you mislead to AM-PSK31, sorry about that. What i mean is to drive the RF deck with PSK31 signal from my driver IC706, not injecting PSK31 into the PDM Modulator.

What i believe (maybe wrong) by modulating frequency (not amplitude) with PSK for the Class E would be ok. As i noticed one of our friend in this forum using Class E for FSK (TTY).

Inviting more comment about this.

Thank You and Best Regards

yb0djh, Agus HY
Image
yb0djh
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:57 am
Location: Indonesia Jakarta

Re: Class E for PSK31

Postby kf1z » Tue Nov 03, 2009 6:56 am

I wasn't thinking about this in the right direction... :)

I was, of course, thinking in the direction of how MOST people are using PSK and othe digital modes...
Through their computer soundcard, and using the microphone input, or other audio input, on their SSB radio.

I suppose that the problem you'll be facing is to be able to drive the class-e stage WITHOUT distortion..

Maybe just as simple as pushing the button and trying it !

Try it at a low level, and check the output for spurious signals etc...


Maybe Floyd, who hasn't been heard from for quite a while here, will comment .
User avatar
kf1z
Senior Contributer
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:07 am
Location: Ely, NV.

Re: Class E for PSK31

Postby yb0djh » Wed Nov 04, 2009 12:49 am

kf1z wrote:
Maybe just as simple as pushing the button and trying it !

Try it at a low level, and check the output for spurious signals etc...


Yes, you are right. Just my reluctance to soldering the very small pins behind the accessories jack. :D

Best Regards

yb0djh, Agus HY
Image
yb0djh
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:57 am
Location: Indonesia Jakarta


Return to Class E Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron