Ferrite Power Transformers

Welcome and feel free to ask questions about class E, mosfet's, and AM.
You must be registered to post.

Postby WA2WVL » Thu Jan 19, 2006 3:15 pm

When I worked for a living I designed High Power Ferrite Transformers
(2-30 Mhz ) up to 10 KW average. Some of the things I learned may be of interest to Forum members.

1. RF power transformers DO NOT store energy ( except for leakage inductance ) they transfer it.
2. Core loss does increase with RF current thru the transformer but normally current is not used as a design criteria (applied voltage is).
3. Doubling core crossectional area does not double inductance. This is because the flux density drops as one moves away from the center of the core. This means that larger diameter cores is not the answer in reducing core loss. Use more cores. Loss is proportional to the area inside the BH curve so less V/core means a shorter and narrower BH curve.
4. IR scanning of a ferrite power transformer showed that the inner surface of the core heats first and expands (maximum flux density). This
is what cracks cores. Even imersion in oil had little effect on the power handling ability of the transformer.
5. At 160 meters I would recommend using the Amidon FB-43-1020 core run at about 10V/core (carrier). Peak modulation voltage is not much of a problem due to duty cycle and thermal time constant of the ferrite. For full CW power more cores should be used. This same transformer at 80 meters would be coasting (half flux density due to frequency).

I hope my comments help some of the non-engineers out there better understand the in's and out's of ferrite power transformers.
Last edited by WA2WVL on Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:56 pm, edited 5 times in total.
WA2WVL
Class E Enthusiast

Postby frank carcia » Thu Jan 19, 2006 9:20 pm

Floyd,