200 Watt Class E Transmitter kit from K7DYY

Welcome and feel free to ask questions about class E, mosfet's, and AM.
You must be registered to post.

200 Watt Class E Transmitter kit from K7DYY

Postby KC3OL » Fri Nov 25, 2005 11:36 am

I would be interested in any comments about this transmitter. The link to his site is http://www.w7jhs.com/wst_page10.html
The transmitter is 5 x 5 x 7.5 inches and only weighs 2.5 pounds. It uses pulse width modulation.

Ted, KC3OL
KC3OL

Postby frank carcia » Fri Nov 25, 2005 11:34 pm

It is interesting to see this design claiming 200 watts from a single fet.
Both Steve and I found 50 watts carrier per fet is about right. More than that and the RDS on hurts efficiency. Also single ended design will have higher harmonics. I does look nice but 800 watts peak sounds like the fet will be begging for mercey.
frank carcia
Senior Contributer

K7 Class E TX

Postby flintstone mop » Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:45 pm

Hi guys,
I am a newbie to Class E and was disappointed to read the comment about the 200 watt Tx that is offered from K7DYY. I do not have a Junque box for a solid state project like this or even something bigger. I commend someone like K7DYY, Bruce to make something availabe for someone like me, who doesn't have the funds or ambition to search down all of the components needed for a little more juice (RF power), so that one device is not pleading for mercy.
Is anyone out there offering a "kit" with a little more guts and headroom for the devices used? I can understand why he has a fan on that heat sink!!!
Fred MOP radio
It's difficult to switch my equipment to SSB, for some reason
flintstone mop

Postby KC3OL » Sun Dec 11, 2005 2:23 pm

Here is another link with info about the K7DYY transmitter:
http://hightechham.com/

Ted, KC3OL
KC3OL

200 Watt

Postby flintstone mop » Sun Dec 11, 2005 3:38 pm

Thanks Ted