Power Supply PWM control chips as PDM generators

Welcome and feel free to ask questions about class E, mosfet's, and AM.
You must be registered to post.

Power Supply PWM control chips as PDM generators

Postby frank carcia » Thu Feb 13, 2003 12:58 pm

I started playing with PWM about 20 years ago and quickly found Current
Mode superior to voltage mode. The feedback is the pulse by pulse monitor of current through the filter. Operating at high current like we
all use would dissipate a lot of power in a sense resistor so I use
Current transformers to monitor pulse current. I actually have a small RC filter to handle the first few hunderd nano seconds of leakage inductance in my filter. The biggest problem I had was scaling all the voltages around the modulator to be within the limits of the SG1846 PWM. This meant my current mode feed back voltage had to stay below 1 volt or an internal OP amp would saturate. The error amplifier is just like a normal PDM generator where you feed in audio and a DC offset. All these voltages are referenced to the internal 5 volt reference. This means the maximum voltage was below 5 volts at the output of the internal error amplifier. I ended up with needing about 1 volt of audio maximum. The 1846 has two outputs each with a maximum on time of 49% so I had to use both phases to fully modulate. The extra 2 % is fixed dead time for magnetics to reset and in PDM case time for the damper diode to do its job. Each phase drives 4 - 9 Amp MOS FET Drivers which in turn drive 4 IRFP340s. With slope compensation I am able to get down to about 96% negative modulation before the filter goes discontinous. I tend to run about 150 % positive peak so the 4% of negative clipped by the negative peak limiter is lost in the noise. I still have not connected negative feedback but it is quite simple to add. A resistor to the error amplifier and
set the Carrier up a bit. Someday I will actually add VSWR shut down.